Over 125 years of photographic history!

Llanelli Photographic Society can trace its beginnings back to 1891 from various newspaper articles detailing the meetings and excursions made by the original members. After a group of like-minded people got together in May of 1891, it was decided to form a society due to the growing number of amateurs partaking in the new pastime of photography. They formally met on the 11th of June 1891 and formed the Llanelli Photographic Society.

The founding committee consisted of Mr J. H. Rogers, President; Mr J. Rushton Turnock and Dr. Roderick, Hon Secretaries with Mr J. Daniell as the treasurer. The Society’s first outing was to Ferryside and Llanstephan, a photo of which appears left. Since then the Society has met in various venues and had much success over the years helping local enthusiasts get more out of this fascinating hobby.

In 2016 the Society celebrated its 125th Anniversary. To celebrate this landmark one of our long standing members the late Joyce Mollet created this visual record of photography in Llanelli.

Original members of the society pictured on an early outing to Llansteffan Castle in around 1890.

Members of the society pictured, on an early outing around 1890.
Share This
Llanelli Photographic Society